Day 5 – 5 Shelves to Declutter!

🎵 On the fifth day of Christmas break my fam-i-ly gave me… five shel-ves to de-clutter! 🎵

So as I’ve been working on my house over the past couple months I’ve tried to follow the rule of dealing with places you can see first. But I keep coming across the issue that the storage rooms where these items need to hide are in too much chaos to put them away properly. So for the fifth day I decided it was finally time to tackle some out of control shelves and I’m very pleased with the results!

This is our main storage room and there are always so many boxes on the floor that you can’t actually get to the shelves. One of the most exciting things to come out of this decluttering session was that I finally made boxes of decor for Easter, Fall and Canada Day! I’ve been collecting things but didn’t have a spot for them so they were a big part of the clutter randomly strewn around. Now when I find a random piece of decor I know exactly where it goes and I know how much I have so it is easier to say no to new stuff once the bin is full. I also found homes for our cushions from our outside furniture during the winter rather than them cluttering up the playroom.

Another big problem in our household is the board games everywhere! You’d think it is all we do. The first three pictures are of spots that previously housed games. There is also a stash upstairs in our living room for easy access at our games table. So it was a great relief to be able to consolidate them all on these easy to view and access shelves in the storage room. Then we can cycle out the small collection upstairs so we have different ones to play on a regular basis.

🎵 …four dishevelled rooms,

…three dirty bathrooms,

…to-o mu-ch paper,

AND a chaotic kitchen to clean! 🎵

Did you miss a day?  Go back and visit all the days of Christmas break here…

Leave a comment